Former Proteas skipper Faf du Plessis is on his way home from The Hundred after failing to recover from his persistent concussion knock suffered during the Pakistan Super League in June.

Du Plessis was due to captain the Northern Superchargers after replacing Australia’s Aaron Finch but failed to make a single appearance in the new innovative 100-ball event.

READ | Faf du Plessis confirms concussion, memory loss after freak fielding accident: ‘I will be fine’

The incident took place while Du Plessis was playing for Quetta Gladiators against Peshawar Zalmi in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) in Abu Dhabi.

Unfortunately I’m on my way home as I haven’t recovered as quick as I would have liked from my concussion to play some sort of part in @thehundred for the @northernsuperchargers this year. Great bunch of guys and I’ve really enjoyed the look and feel of this tournament,” Du Plessis wrote on his Instagram account.

You can watch the incident HERE.

I would like to thank the , the @northernsuperchargers and also every single person who has gone out there way to make sure that my brain health remains the most important priority and not how fast I play cricket again. I’m really so grateful for all the support through this difficult injury and feel like I’m very close to playing again.”


The 37-year-old, who retired from Test cricket in February, but remained available for South Africa in white-ball cricket, was a notable omission from the Proteas squad for the Sri Lankan tour next month.

South Africa will play three one-day internationals and three T20 internationals in Sri Lanka, with all the matches in Colombo. The first one-day game is on 2 September.


Proteas squads:

One-day: Temba Bavuma (capt), Junior Dala, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Janneman Malan, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

Twenty20: Bavuma (capt), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, B. Hendricks, R. Hendricks, Klaasen, Linde, Maharaj, Sisanda Magala, Markram, David Miller, Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Nortje, Pretorius, Rabada, Shamsi, Van der Dussen, Williams


Original article: